First Step Board of Directors


Jennifer Hartke, Attorney, Hartke Associates


Elaine Tingle, Executive Director – Human Resources and Community Affairs, Bridgewater Interiors


Heidi Naasko
Pro Bono and Diversity Counsel, Dykema Gossett


June Nicholas, HR Works, LLC


Wendy Woodward, AAMS® Financial Advisor and Owner GPS Financial


  • Genelle M. Allen, Esq., Assistant County Executive, Wayne County, Michigan
  • Jay Bonnell, Controller, Beaumont Hospital
  • Kimberly Coleman, Associate General Counsel, Flagstar Bank, Legal Department
  • Kathleen Cronin, Philanthropist
  • Jerome Espy, Sr., Owner / President, Nfinit Integrated Communications
  • Jeffrey Gielniak, System Director, Property & Real Estate Management, Beaumont Health
  • Carla O’Malley, Chief Development Officer, Autism Alliance of Michigan & President, Partners in Philanthropy of Michigan
  • Karen Mazo, Community Volunteer / Former Major of Woodhaven
  • Karen Wilson Smithbauer, President, Karen Colina Wilson Foundation
  • Beckie Thompson, Director of External Affairs, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

First Step Key Staff

  • Amy Youngquist, Chief Executive Officer
  • Theresa Bizoe, Associate Director
  • Desiree Herrick, Associate Director
  • Ilene Hogan, Associate Director
  • Sally Coder, Program Coordinator / Survivor Advocate
  • Kathleen Howard, Program Coordinator, Community Services
  • Wanda Merriweather, Program Coordinator / Survivor Advocate
  • Jill Popovich, Program Coordinator / Survivor Adocate
  • Catherine Stratford, Program Coordinator / Survivor Advocate
  • Samantha Straub, Program Coordinator / Survivor Advocate